Tax Notes logo

Tax Notes State Further Information

Tax Notes® State

Copyright, Tax Analysts, 2022
ISSN 2688-6588 (Print)
ISSN 2688-6596 (Online)

President and CEO: Cara Griffith
Chief Content Officer: Jeremy Scott
Executive Editor, Commentary: Jasper Smith
Senior Executive Editor, News: Chuck O'Toole

Editor in Chief: Jéanne Rauch-Zender
Deputy Editor in Chief: Jennifer Carr
Commentary Editors: Eben Halberstam, Doug Sheppard
Managing Editor: Kristen Langsdorf
Deputy Managing Editor: Daniel Xu

Contributing Editors: Roxanne Bland, Lee A. Sheppard
Chief Economist: Martin A. Sullivan

Editor in Chief, Acquisitions & Engagement: Paige Jones
Acquisitions Staff: Alexis Hart, Jordan Parrish, Peyton Rhodes, Christopher Trigo

Tax Notes Today State Editor in Chief: Henry J. Reske
Tax Notes Today State Deputy Editor in Chief: Stephanie Hench
Tax Notes Today State News Editors: Mark Abbott, Donnabel C. Blazejewski
Tax Notes Today State Associate Editor: Mary-Elise Sheets
Tax Notes Today State Editorial Assistants: Tabitha Chilton, Cera Lee, Justin Meyer

Reporters: Mark Hand, Emily Hollingsworth, Christopher Jardine, Paul Jones, Andrea Muse, Benjamin Valdez

Copy Chief: Betsy Sherman
Editorial Staff: Craig Dubyk, Julie Eisenhauer, Richard Farrell, Catherine McCarthy, Aaron Perryman, Fran Slimmer

Production Director: Stephanie Wynn
Production Manager: Michelle Smith
Production Staff: Gary Aquino, José Carrasquillo, Isabel Church, Nikki Ebert, Jack Frost, Alice Haar, Donna Katac, Dat Mai, Jillian O'Hara, Soledad Olivera, William Patterson, Nayareh Rooholamini, Faith Smalls, Dieter Stach, Kristen Sutherland, Steve Torregrossa

Graphic Designer/Photographer: Derek Squires

Correspondence: Regarding editorial matters and submissions, please contact the Editor in Chief at Tax Notes State, 400 S. Maple Ave., Suite 400, Falls Church, VA 22046 USA, or email

Subscriptions, Address Change: Change of address notices, subscriptions, and requests for back issues should be sent to the Customer Service Department, Tax Analysts, 400 S. Maple Ave., Suite 400, Falls Church, VA 22046 USA, or e-mailed to

Frequency: Tax Notes State is published 51 weeks of the year by Tax Analysts.

Form of Citation: Articles appearing in Tax Notes State may be cited by reference to the date of the publication and page, thus: Tax Notes State, June 17, 2019, p. 1003.

Customer Service:
Toll-Free: (800) 955-2444
U.S.: (703) 533-4400*
Canada: (800) 955-3444
* Within the continental U.S.

© Tax Analysts 2022. All rights reserved. Users are permitted to reproduce small portions of this work for purposes of criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research only. Any use of these materials shall contain this copyright notice. We provide our publications for informational purposes, and not as legal advice. Although we believe that our information is accurate, each user must exercise professional judgment, or involve a professional to provide such judgment, when using these materials and assumes the responsibility and risk of use. As an objective, nonpartisan publisher of tax information, analysis, and commentary, we use both our own and outside authors, and the views of such writers do not necessarily reflect our opinion on various topics.


Tax Notes® State Advisory Board

Walter Hellerstein, Advisory Board Chair
University of Georgia

Clark R. Calhoun
Alston & Bird LLP

Eric J. Coffill
Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

Valerie C. Dickerson
Deloitte Tax LLP

Craig B. Fields
Blank Rome LLP

Jeffrey A. Friedman
Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP

Lynn A. Gandhi
Foley & Lardner LLP

Billy Hamilton
Texas A&M University System

Helen Hecht
Multistate Tax Commission

George S. Isaacson
Brann & Isaacson

Brian J. Kirkell

Carolynn Kranz
Kranz & Associates PLLC

Janette M. Lohman
Thompson Coburn LLP

Alysse McLoughlin
Jones Walker LLP

Amy F. Nogid
Alston & Bird LLP

Timothy P. Noonan
Hodgson Russ LLP

Richard D. Pomp
University of Connecticut School of Law

Mark J. Richards
Ice Miller LLP

Carley A. Roberts
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Mark F. Sommer
Frost Brown Todd LLC

Philip M. Tatarowicz
Geoegetown University Law Center

Marilyn A. Wethekam
Horwood Marcus & Berk Chtd.

Kathleen K. Wright
Golden Gate University