Tax Notes logo

Click here to see operators for terms and connectors searching.

Student Writing Competition

Christopher E. Bergin Award for Excellence in Writing

The Christopher E. Bergin Award for Excellence in Writing recognizes superior student writing on unsettled questions in tax law or policy. It is named in honor of the late Christopher E. Bergin, former president and publisher of Tax Analysts and longtime editor of Tax Notes Federal. The award, given annually, epitomizes the qualities that Chris championed.

To learn more about Christopher E. Bergin, click here.

  • Eligibility: Must be enrolled in an accredited undergraduate or graduate program during the academic year.
  • Topic: Submissions should focus on an unsettled question in federal, state, or international tax law or policy.
  • Evaluation: Our editorial staff blindly evaluates entries on originality, readability, organization, reasoning, and overall quality of content.

Click here for competition guidelines.

For general questions, contact


2020 Winner
Alex Zhang
Yale Law School, J.D. Class of 2021

2020 Honorable Mention
Alana Paris
Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law, J.D. Class of 2021