Tax Notes logo

Press Release

Tax Analysts Adds Members to Board of Directors

July 28, 2021

Tax Analysts today announced that David Kautter and Nina E. Olson have joined its board of directors effective immediately. Kautter was the Treasury assistant secretary for tax policy and served as acting IRS commissioner from November 2017 until October 2018; Olson was the national taxpayer advocate from March 2001 until July 2019 and is the executive director and founder of the Center for Taxpayer Rights.

Tax Analysts has continually been recognized for its tireless advocacy of transparency in tax systems worldwide and has benefited from other recent additions to its board of directors, including Danielle Rolfes and Samuel Thompson in January 2021; and Sharda Cherwoo, Tom Neubig, and Sam Sim in May 2020.

“The addition of Nina Olson and David Kautter to our board is another in a string of victories for tax transparency,” said President and CEO Cara Griffith. “It is so important to have folks like these on our side as we continue to shed light on tax policy and its administration through everything we do at Tax Analysts.”

“Over the course of my career I have had many honors; chief among them was serving as the acting commissioner of the IRS for a year while I was also serving as the assistant secretary of the Treasury for tax policy,” said Kautter. “I’m excited to continue working for taxpayers by serving on the board of directors for Tax Analysts, an extraordinary organization that I have long held in high regard.” Before his work with the IRS and Treasury, Kautter worked in consulting, having spent almost 30 years with EY and, most recently, leading RSM’s Washington National Tax group. Kautter is an executive in residence at American University, where he previously served as managing director of the Kogod Tax Policy Center.

“As the national taxpayer advocate, I was responsible for recognizing important problems facing taxpayers and bringing them to the attention of the IRS and Congress,” said Olson. “Tax Analysts does the same kind of work writ large, and I am eager to join their team and help continue their efforts on behalf of taxpayers everywhere.” Olson was recognized by Tax Analysts in 2016 as one of 10 Outstanding Women in Tax, in part for her work in advocating for the Taxpayer Bill of Rights which was adopted by the IRS in 2014. Olson has frequently testified before congressional committees and has long argued for a simpler, more transparent tax code.

“Our board is a veritable who’s who in the world of tax,” Griffith said. “Now, David Kautter and Nina Olson are elevating what was already a prestigious group with their unparalleled knowledge and expertise as we look toward the future of tax policy and administration.”

For questions or to speak with someone at Tax Analysts, please contact Stephen Roberts at or 703-533-4635.

About Tax Analysts
Tax Analysts is the non-partisan, nonprofit organization that publishes the Tax Notes portfolio of products, the leading multimedia source of breaking news, in-depth analysis, and insightful commentary on tax administration and policy. Founded in 1970, Tax Analysts has the industry’s largest tax-dedicated correspondent staff, with more than 250 domestic and international correspondents. Tax Analysts provides essential tax news and analysis daily for more than 150,000 tax professionals in law and accounting firms, corporations, government agencies, and academic institutions worldwide. Key products include Tax Notes Federal, Tax Notes Today Federal, Tax Notes State, Tax Notes Today State, Tax Notes International, and Tax Notes Today International, and Tax Notes Global.